March 14, 2019, Provincial Capitol, Sulu – Abraham “ Jess” Burahan,  resigned his post  as Panglima Tahil Mayor to join the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao or BARMM. 

Appointed as a member of the Bangsamoro Transition Authority (BTA), a body of a majority are composed  of MILF officials and members, mandated to exercise authority over the  transition phase of the newly established autonomous government.

BTA members are given a three (3)  year term after which elections will be held to submit to the people the determination of the composition of officials that will spearhead BARMM. 

Panglima Tahil Vice -Mayor Nasia T. Galib and 1st Councilor Hajija A. Masarik assumes as Mayor and Vice Mayor, respectively, of said municipality. 

Sulu Governor Abdusakur A . Tan II administered the Oath of Office, in the presence DILG Prov’l Director Emini T. Kadiri and Mayor Burahan, to said officials. They are to serve the remainder of the term and line succession as effected by Burahan vacating his post as mayor. 

Burahan was also awarded a Plaque of Appreciation by Governor Tan, in recognition of his service to the people of Panglima Tahil and his cooperation and support to the program and policies of the Provincial Government. 

Tan is optimistic that Burahan will represent Sulu competently in the BARMM and wished him well on his new found endeavour.

Mayor Burahan receives Plaque of Appreciation given by Governor Tan
Governor Tan swears into office Panglima Tahil Vice -Mayor Nasia T. Galib as Mayor
WP Facebook Auto Publish Powered By :
%d bloggers like this: